HomeBuisnessSouth Africa achieved a historic win over Australia for the first time...

South Africa achieved a historic win over Australia for the first time Pi News


Pi News –


South Africa made history with a memorable six-run win over Australia in the second T20I at Manuka Oval in Canberra, their first win against the reigning world champions in any format of the game.

Chasing a target of 143, the Proteas cruised to victory by six balls, finishing on 144 for four. Captain Laura Wohlwardt played a crucial innings, remaining unbeaten on 58 runs and winning the Man of the Match award.

- Advertisement -

Volwardt praised his team’s excellent performance and was proud of their performance against a strong Australian team. South Africa’s opening duo, Walwardt and Tazmin Brits, provided a solid start with a partnership that included well-executed shots and boundaries.

The Proteas reached 50 in the seventh innings, with Walwardt on 19 and the Brits on 31. The Briton’s departure on 75, caught on the mound running from Georgia Wareham, made way for Marisanna Kapp to join Wohlwardt in the middle.


Despite Kapp’s dismissal and a minor setback, Wohlwardt, along with rookie forward Chloe Tryon, secured a stylish win. Walwardt’s unbeaten 58, backed by Tryon’s 4 runs, sealed the historic victory. Australia’s Ash Gardner took two wickets for 26.

Australia faced some challenges in the first innings as Ayabonga Haka was caught in the second over to provide a lifeline for Beth Mooney. However, Australia lost wickets regularly and a mini-collapse saw them at 93 for five. Gardner’s departure was the sixth wicket and a late partnership between Harris and Wareham added respectability to Australia’s total.

The final match of the series is scheduled to be played at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on January 30, while the three-match ODI series will begin on February 3 at Adelaide Oval in Adelaide.


South Africa: Laura Wohlwardt (captain), Tazmin Brits, Marizan Kapp, Anneke Bosh, Sun Luus, Chloe Tryon, Nadine De Klerk, Sinalo Jafta, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Masabata Class, Ayabonga Haka.

Australia: Alyssa Healy (capt), Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner, Phoebe Litchfield, Grace Harris, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Heather Graham, Megan Shutt.

Main image: Daily Maverick


Most Popular

An attack on democracy Pi News