The BJP has announced 16 candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections. Piyush Goel from Maha, Sita Raman from Karnataka ProIQRA News

News Details

The BJP has announced 16 candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections. (Photo: File)

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced 16 candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections on Sunday, June 10, fielding Union Ministers Piyush Goel and Nirmala Sitharaman from Maharashtra and Karnataka respectively.

Out of 16 candidates, 6 are from Uttar Pradesh.

Former BJP MLA Radha Mohandas Agrawal, who left her Gorakhpur Urban constituency, had fielded Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath as a candidate in the recent Assembly elections.

From Uttar Pradesh, the party has also fielded former state unit chief Lakshmi Kant Vajpayee, incumbent Rajya Sabha MP Surinder Singh Nagar and Baburam Nishad, chairperson of the UP Backward Classes Finance and Development Corporation.

The party has fielded two women from the state – Darshna Singh and Sangeeta Yadav. Singh is the former head of state of the women’s wing of the party, while Yadav is the former MLA of the party from Chori Chora in Gorakhpur.

The party announced the names of two candidates each from Karnataka, Maharashtra and Bihar and one each from Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Haryana.

Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Vene Sahasar Budha, whose terms are expiring, were not included in the first list of BJP candidates.

BJP general secretary Dashinat Gautam, a Rajya Sabha member from Haryana, was also missing from the first list of candidates.

The party has given ticket to former Haryana MLA Krishna Lal Panwar.

Quetta Patidar will be the party’s candidate from Madhya Pradesh, Ghanshyam Tiwari from Rajasthan and Kalpana Sini from Uttarakhand.

From Bihar, the party has fielded Satish Chandra Dubey and Shambhu Sharan Patel.

According to a BJP release, Union Minister for Commerce and Industry Goel and Anil Sukhdev Rao Bonde have been nominated from Maharashtra.

Union Finance Minister Sita Raman and actor-turned-politician Jagesh will be the party’s candidates from Karnataka.

Elections will be held on June 10 to fill 57 Rajya Sabha seats from 15 states vacated due to retirement of members on different dates between June and August. The deadline to submit nomination papers is May 31.

Also read: Rajya Sabha elections: List of 10 Congress candidates released, Ghulam Nabi Azad not nominated