The Indian women’s team won the Asia Cup for the 7th time. | Pro IQRA News

Pro IQRA News Updates.

Sylhet: What Rohit Sharma-led Indian men’s team failed to do, Harmanpreet Kaur-led women’s team did. India defeated Sri Lanka in the final of the Women’s Asia Cup cricket tournament played at the Sylhet International Cricket Ground in Bangladesh. India won this match by 8 wickets.

This is the seventh time that India has won the Asia Cup. So far this competition has been held 8 times. India won the title for the first time in 2004. Since then, till 2016, Team India has won six titles in a row. India were defeated by Bangladesh in the 2018 final. India once again defeated Sri Lanka to win the Asia Cup.

In the final match, Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first. However, in front of India’s bowling, Sri Lanka’s seeds flew. In 20 overs, he could only score 65 runs for 9 wickets. Only two Sri Lankan batsmen could score in double figures. On behalf of India, Renuka Singh took 3 wickets by giving 5 runs in 3 overs. While Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Suniya Rana took 2 wickets each.

Set a target of just 66 runs for victory, the Indian team suffered their first shock at 32 runs. Shefali Verma was dismissed for 5 runs while Jemima Rodrigues returned to the pavilion for just 2 runs. This made India 35 for 2. Smriti Mandhana and Captain Kaur then completed the victory rituals. Smriti scored an unbeaten 51 off 25 balls which included 6 fours and 3 sixes. Kaur scored 11 runs not out.


- Advertisment -

Latest News & Updates

- Advertisment -